Welcome To The State of Vermont Governors Page.

Although Vermont’s legislature adopted an official state flag in 1923, several designs of record prior to that should be noted. The first Vermont flag, created in 1803, was a militia flag and had 17 stars and 17 alternating red and white stripes with “Vermont” in upper case above the stars and stripes. In 1837, Vermont changed its design to include 13 stripes and one large star on a blue background. Within the star was the State Coat of Arms. A large pine tree, a cow, and three sheaves of wheat form a landscape on the Coat of Arms with mountains rising in the background. A buck’s head forms the crest of the arms with two pine boughs on either side crossed under a red ribbon with the words “Vermont” and “Freedom and Unity” below. Since this design was readily confused with the United States flag, especially at a distance, Vermont regiments traditionally went into battle carrying a flag composed of the State Coat of Arms on a field of blue. In 1923, this design became the official state flag as we know it today.

State Capital: Montpelier
State Motto Latin:
State Motto: Freedom and Unity
State Nickname: The Green Mountain State
United States Image Map
Vermont Governor Phil Scott

        Republican Party
        Elected: 2016
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Connecticut Delaware Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Maryland Massachusetts Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Hampshire New Jersey New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming