Welcome To The State of South Dakota Governors Page.

South Dakota adopted its first state flag in 1909, a decade after achieving statehood. This official flag featured a golden sun with the words “South Dakota” above and “The Sunshine State” below, also in gold. On the reverse side was the Great Seal of the State of South Dakota picturing a steamboat on a river with a farmer plowing a field in the foreground and mountains in the distance. Above the scene on a ribbon is the state motto “Under God the People Rule.” Since it was more expensive to produce a flag with different designs on each side, the legislature passed a bill adding the seal to the center of the sun and making the design the same on both sides. South Dakota conceded “The Sunshine State” motto to Florida in 1992 when legislation was enacted changing the official state motto to “The Mount Rushmore State.” Flags made prior to July 1, 1992, however, remained legal until supplies were depleted.

State Capital: Pierre
State Motto Latin:
State Motto: Under God the people rule
State Nickname: The Mount Rushmore State, Coyote State
United States Image Map
South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem

        Republican Party
        Elected: 2018
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Connecticut Delaware Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Maryland Massachusetts Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Hampshire New Jersey New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming