Welcome To The State of North Dakota Governors Page.

North Dakota, which became the 39th state to join the Union in 1889, outfitted infantry regiments during the Spanish-American War and the Phillipine Island Insurrection in the late 1800s. The regimental flag carried into battle was made up of a field of deep blue with a Bald Eagle clutching an olive branch (representing peace) and arrows (representing liberty) in its claws. A shield on the bird’s breast bears 13 red and white stripes denoting the original 13 colonies, and a ribbon in its beak displays the words “E Pluribus Unum,” meaning “Out of Many, One” in Latin. Above the eagle is a yellow fan in the shape of a sunburst containing an array of 13 yellow stars representing the birth of a nation. The North Dakota State Flag of today, officially adopted in 1911 by the Legislative Assembly, is the same as the regimental flag with one exception: a red scroll beneath the eagle displays the words “North Dakota.” A bill to change the state flag was defeated in 1953.

State Capital: Bismarck
State Motto Latin:
State Motto: Liberty and union, now and forever, one and inseparable
State Nickname: The Sioux State, The Flickertail State, The Peace Garden State, The Rough Rider State
United States Image Map
North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum

        Republican Party
        Elected: 2016
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Connecticut Delaware Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Maryland Massachusetts Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Hampshire New Jersey New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming